Free Birthday Meals and My Todai Experience

April 12, 2007 at 11:25 pm 3 comments

cake.jpgRecently I celebrated my birthday. Usually, I like to celebrate at a nice restaurant, the kind with cloth napkins, a wine list, and a menu with words like coulis or pan-seared written in a pleasing font.

But this year, I said to my husband, “Let’s go to Todai!”

Todai is a seafood buffet chain with a merchandise table and a mascot. No cloth napkins or coulis—but on your birthday, your meal is free.

And I must say, it was really fun.

I stuffed myself with sushi, sashimi and crab, as well as half a dozen other things. I had spider hand rolls, which you need to request at the sushi counter, and they were stuffed with crab and avocado and the nori was crispy. I had cheesecake and a root beer float. My gluttonous side was very happy, and my frugal side even happier.

You can find other eateries that offer birthday deals in your area by going to this website:  

http://www.onbirthday.com/home.do

If anyone else knows of a good deal, please share!

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: .

Free Workshop in Portland: Tools to Prevent Foreclosure Carnival of Personal Finance Is Up

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeff the Great  |  April 13, 2007 at 1:47 am

    Only problem with the free meal offer is that you still have to pay for the others in your party. We did this once and realized we spent more money at Todai even with the free meal than we would have at another place nicer than Todai.

    Reply
  • 2. Carol  |  April 13, 2007 at 11:17 am

    Hi Amelia! seafood is yummy….I just gorge on them. I simply love sushi. Could u write a post on the easiest way to make a sushi, so that I can prepare at home? Here’s wishing you a happy belated birthday! Carol

    Reply
  • 3. Bargain Quest » Happy Bargain Birthday to Me  |  April 20, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    [...] to add: Around the Sun also just celebrated a birthday, and she shared a tip to check out onbirthday.com, where you can [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Around the Sun

Please note that ATS has moved. Please go to the new address http://aroundthesunblog.com/.

Copyright

Please do not use any photos or content from this site without my permission. Thank you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

