I’m Planning a Big Trip, Any Advice?

June 21, 2007 at 9:46 pm 2 comments

plane-picture-2.pngMy husband and I would like to take a trip to Tokyo and Manila sometime this winter.

So far, I’ve found airfare prices that start at $1,200 per person. Is this a good deal?

I’ve looked at the major travel websites (Kayak, for example). And the lowest prices are in the $1,600 range.

I found the lower fare of $1,200 through Sankei, a Japanese travel agency in San Francisco:

http://english.sankeisanfrancisco.com/

I highly recommend this company. All communication has been through email, and they have been amazingly prompt and courteous with their responses.

I’ve also been in contact with IACE, both their Seattle office and their Tokyo office:

http://www.iace.co.jp/english/

Like Sankei, all communication has been through email, all in English, and all super fast and nice. They tell me, however, that they will not have discount offers for winter until early fall.

So this is my dilemma (and is always my dilemma when I am booking travel), should I book now ($1,200/person) or wait to see if a better deal comes along?

Does anyone have advice on finding great deals on airfare to Asia?

Entry filed under: Travel. Tags: .

Best Garage Sale Event in Portland Is Happening This Weekend: Eastmoreland Garage Sale Eastmoreland Garage Sale 2007 Map

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. RD  |  June 22, 2007 at 3:14 am

    Did you try Northwest’s non-stop fare from PDX to Tokyo, then another national airline from there? 1200 sounds way too high, no matter the time of year. Orbitz? Priceline? There has to be a better price, at least to Japan!

    Reply
  • 2. Amelia  |  June 22, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    Thanks for the sanity check, RD. $1,200 sounded high to me too, but with the fuel surcharges, I thought maybe…maybe…this was as good as it was going to get. I’ll check out Priceline too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Around the Sun

Please note that ATS has moved. Please go to the new address http://aroundthesunblog.com/.

Copyright

Please do not use any photos or content from this site without my permission. Thank you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

