Personal Finance Advice Found at Garage Sale

June 24, 2007 at 5:53 am 1 comment

I had a great time at the Eastmoreland Garage Sale on Saturday. The weather was perfect, clear but not hot. As always, I loved walking the neighborhood and looking at the gorgeous houses and gardens. I was particularly intrigued by these purple flowers.

flower.jpgflowercloseup.jpg

But of course, I was there for business, first and foremost. Purchase-wise, it was a light day. I didn’t find a whole lot that I needed or wanted. Most of the things I got were on the frivolous side, but for the price, I couldn’t resist. I bought:

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (hardcover) in excellent condition: $1
6 gift bags, new (the seller owned a stationery business): $2.75
Witch’s hat (hello Halloween!): 50 cents
Bag of popcorn from 2 boys: 50 cents
Donut: 50 cents
Bottled water: $1
Silver elephant bank (I have a thing for elephants): $1

elephantbankfront.jpgelephantbankback.jpg

Last but not least, my best purchase of the day:

stockadvice.jpg

Stock advice from a little girl…I mean, young Wall Street female up-and-comer: 50 cents.

Hallelujah, I need all the help I can get! I gladly handed over my money, and she gave me a paper-clipped stack of index cards. As they say, great wisdom often comes in the most unassuming of packages.

Her hot picks in no particular order:

applestock_ats.jpg

“apple conputer is a really useful difice including teknolg and fun!”

warnerstock_ats.jpg

“Worner music is a wonderful seence it sponsers so mony famis singers such as Avril Lavigne it is garinted to do well”

disneystock_ats.jpg

“Disney is a wonderful stock becaus it is good for all ages”

I couldn’t have asked for better advice. Unfortunately, she did not let me keep the cards. Very shrewd.

Full of bargains, imagination and charm, the Eastmoreland Garage Sale is one of my favorite summer events. I’ll definitely be back next year.

Entry filed under: Portland, Shopping. Tags: .

Eastmoreland Garage Sale 2007 Map Free Harry Potter Screening for MySpace Members

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Around the Sun

Please note that ATS has moved. Please go to the new address http://aroundthesunblog.com/.

Copyright

Please do not use any photos or content from this site without my permission. Thank you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

